top of page

SFPD Board of Directors

The Sunshine Fire Protection Board is responsible for the oversight and management of the  annual SFPD budget funded through a property tax mil rate approved by Boulder County voters.  That budget in 2023 is about $170,000 and covers our costs for purchasing and maintaining fire fighting and EMS equipment and apparatus, maintaining our two fire stations, and all other operational costs.  All SFPD staff and fire fighters are volunteers.


The SFPD made up of five individuals who are elected for normally four-year terms during odd years, (2023, 2027).  All community members are eligible and encouraged to serve on the board or on important committees.

Jean Gatza

Jean Gatza - Committee Chairperson

August 2018 - May 2019

June 2019- May  2022

June, 2022 - May 2025


Dan Fischer


Terms: June 2020 - May 2023

June 2023 - May 2027

John Bauer SFPD Board Member

Richard (Dick) Smith


Terms: June 2020 - May 2023

June 2023-May 2027

John Bauer

Communications Director

Term: June 2022-May 2025

Pat Noyes SFPD Board Member

Pat Noyes

Term: June 2023-May 2027

Past Terms:

bottom of page